Get our headlines on WHATSAPP: 1) Save +1 (869) 665-9125 to your contact list. 2) Send a WhatsApp message to that number so we can add you 3) Send your news, photos/videos to

Alcedo Tyson

The authorities have released the names of 21 prisoners who have been transferred to St Lucia as a result of extensive damage to Her Majesty’s Prison here in the British Virgin Islands (BVI). Among them is Alcedo Tyson of St.Kitts who was convicted of murdering his girlfreind back in 2012.

BVI Governor Augustus Jaspert recently signed off on the emergency transfer after prisoners at the correctional facility were recaptured, following their escape during Hurricane Irma this month.

A notice posted in the latest edition of the Virgin Islands Gazette yesterday did not specify how long the prisoners will be in St Lucia.

But the BVI authorities, in their Gazette, noted that the prisoners will be away “until such time as repair work to improve security at the prison has been completed, and the governor determines that the conditions in the prison are such that further escape and disturbance at the prison can be prevented, and the life and safety of other prisoners and the community at large can be assured”.

The prisoners named have been convicted of a wide range of serious offences including murder, attempted murder, and illegal possession of firearm.

They are listed in the Gazette as:

  1. Omarie Winter
  2. Shakoy Lavacia
  3. Aaron George
  4. Kareem Durante
  5. Orlando Bonnick
  6. Yan Edwards
  7. Kenyatta Boynes
  8. Alcedo Tyson
  9. Andrew Milton
  10. Devin Maduro
  11. Deshawn Stoutt
  12. Matthew Daniel Hazel
  13. Jessroy McKelly
  14. Jevone Demming
  15. Sherman Abdul Williams
  16. Jerry Martin
  17. Samuel Harris
  18. Alberto Rosa De La Rosa
  19. Lorne Parson
  20. Dennis Dwayne Campbell
  21. Allen Baptiste


Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)