BVI Elects New Government! VIP Dominates Polls

Get our headlines on WHATSAPP: 1) Save +1 (869) 665-9125 to your contact list. 2) Send a WhatsApp message to that number so we can add you 3) Send your news, photos/videos to

The VIP dominated the race, walking away with eight of the thirteen seats that were up for grabs.

Tears of joy as well as disappointment are flowing tonight in the British Virgin Islands (BVI), as the National Democratic Party (NDP) was booted from government following a resounding victory by the Virgin Islands Party (VIP) in the 2019 General Elections.

VIP Sweeps At-Large Seats
The Virgin Islands Party (VIP) has won all four At-Large seats in the 2019 general elections .
Sharie de Castro received 4778 votes; Nelville Sheep Smith- 4694; Shereen Flax-Charles- 4033; and Carvin Malone- 3936.

The VIP At-Large candidates, Neville ‘Sheep’ Smith, Sharie de Castro, Shereen Flax-Charles and Carvin Malone made a clean sweep of the battle for the territorial seats.

Chairman of the VIP, Hon. Andrew Fahie retained District One, Kye Rymer won District Five, Dr. Natalio ‘Sowande Uhuru’ Wheatley won the District Seven seat and Vincent Wheatley was successful in his bid for District Nine.

Making up the Opposition is the Progressive Virgin Islands Movement’s (PVIM) Melvin ‘Mitch’ Turnbull, the NDP’s Mark Vanterpool, Alvera Maduro-Caines and Marlon Penn, and Progressives United (PU) Julian Fraser.


Leave a comment

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)